Soap making

Posted: July 24, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

20120725-004857.jpg

When I first bought this soap, I was disappointed. So many people had said good things, and not only was it pink, but it was… Different smelling.

So it sat in my washer’s drawer pedestal (I think that’s what it is…) for forever until I found one that was perfect for my washer- he washer compatible, low sudsing, extra powered, stain removing- that I had to try. But it called for Zote…

Today I got it out & began grating it. I plan to buy 1 ingredient a week until I have them all, and this soap I already have is the first step. As I began to peel back the wrapper I impowered my acts. Cutting the soap was tougher than I thought it’d be, but it made me realize how little I have been doing. And that made me realize I was stagnant. I was in need of a change. Time to clean out the cobwebs…

As I grated the soap, I realized it smelled of the past- of grandmothers, vintage finds, and good old-fashioned cleanliness; the color a strong feminism shade of pink that hails to the days of WW II and of women’s rights.

And now that I’m finished, and the bar curls in the glass bowl, I am actually looking forward to blending it into smoothness tomorrow morning. We decided to stretch out purchasing all of the materials to a few at a time.

I can’t wait to mix up this laundry soap, and I am going to be adding flordia water to the mix too. Can’t get any cleaner than that combination.

I am pleased to merge my interests in such a simple way, and particularly the opportunity to incorporate into my daily life, making laundry more of a joy, and an act of protection and care for my loved ones, making the cloth we wear forms of armor <;;3

P.S. if you are interested in trying some soapmaking out too, here's the base tutorial I am trying: here. I still have one more bar of soap to get this week, and then 2 or 3 other ingredients. If there’s any interest, I may be making up some to give away for a writing contest.

Leave a Reply

